Samuel, my hero

(Dear Readers, I digress from telling about my growing up years to bring you this short essay)

My younger brother, Samuel, has influenced me more than any other single person in my life. With his consistent cheerfulness and expressed love for others, he is an excellent example of a young person living life to the fullest.

Samuel spent the first twenty-one years of his life living with our parents, being abused and neglected in almost every way possible. He lived in this horrific environment, while unable to communicate and advocate for his rights. You see, Samuel has Down Syndrome, which makes it difficult for him to have a voice about his quality of life. A visit to the cult property where Samuel and our parents lived, inspired me to stand up for him and advocate for his right to live a happy, fear-free life.

portrait 7

I have been touched by Samuel’s determination to be as independent as possible and to be cheerful in spite of the way he has been abused. Samuel’s consistent love and forgiveness towards his abusers is amazing. He prays for them by name each night before going to sleep and smiles at them when he sees them in court. At the same time though, Samuel is realistic in considering their overall character in relation to their involvement in his life now and in the future. He confesses that his parents and abusers are “bad” and that he does not wish to visit with them or live with them.

Samuel has been living in my home since April 2013, and everyday I learn something new from him. How to smile and enjoy life despite my circumstances. How to love the unlovable. When I grow up, I dont want to be a doctor or lawyer or pilot. I just want to be as caring and happy as my little brother, Samuel.

2 thoughts on “Samuel, my hero

  1. Hi Glori,
    I am very touched by your story. I was part of the ‘farm’ in South Africa for many years but left in my teenage years. I recently visited a friend in Whitestone a farms Alaska who I had been writing to for 30 Years but never physically met until now. It seems the thread of your story ran through the farms in South Africa too so I can relate. Thankyou so much for sharing!

  2. Hello
    I was just riding your story. Thank you for beeing honest. I lived at Whitestone for one year. My brother Thomas Knechtli lived at Sapa for a few years. Maby you remember him? He is from Switzerland. My parents visited sapa too for a few moths. Georg and Brigitte Knechtli.
    My sister Daniela lives at Whitestone…
    made me so sad to hear all this things how you feel or fealt… still have to say, it does not surprise me at all. I could write more how i feel about this cult farm, but i just wantes to say hello and thank you. Hope your heart is healed šŸ’—
    By the way, my name is Susanne

Leave a comment